Search Engine: Elastic

Article ID: 125651, created on May 28, 2015, last review on Jul 14, 2018

  • Applies to:
  • Business Automation 7.0
  • Business Automation 7.1
  • Business Automation 7.2
  • Business Automation 7.3
  • Business Automation 6.0


I need to increase the logging level for BA. How do I do that? Procedure valid for BA < 6.0 does not seem to work anymore.


The BA internal structure has been changed significantly since BA 6.0.0, there are no more separate logs for each container.

The log level is defined in the /usr/local/bm/etc/ssm.conf.d/global.conf file (%SSMROOT%/etc/ssm.conf.d/global.conf on Windows, %SSMROOT% can be obtained using the command set | findstr SSMROOT in the command line)).

The default log level is 4. To change it open the global.conf for editing and add/modify LogLevels in the [environment] section of the file.

See an example below:

LogLevels = generic_worker:7 scheduler:7

The format for the option it is a space-separated list of:

container name:log level

The list of containers for BA 6.x: WWW, XMLRPCD, _amt_service_, csmapi, generic_worker, logsrv_ctl, pcpapi, scheduler, upsellapi.

for BA 7.x: billing, billing.amt, billing.scheduler, billing.www, billing.xmlrpcd, logsrv_ctl

The * set for the container name means all the other not specified containers, e.g. the record:

LogLevels = *:3 generic_worker:7 scheduler:7

means setting the loglevel 3 to all the containers, except specified generic_worker and scheduler.

Log level is an integer value from 0 to 7:

  • 0 - FATAL, only fatal error that cannot be, even theoretically, processed by the application, for example, a system error like 'unable to allocate memory' are written to the log.
  • 1 - ERR, any error that can be theoretically processed by the application, for example, by the caller, but the module which caught it cannot process the error, is written to log.
  • 2 - WARN, any error that was caught and processed by the module.
  • 3 - NOTE, is used for logging key application execution points, like incoming RPC calls.
  • 4 - TRACE, is the DEFAULT logging level. Diagnostic messages are displayed by calling 'tracing arguments'.
  • 5 - INFO, records the information about key code branching points, e.g. calls to external systems with their addresses.
  • 6 - DEBUG, records all key code points with the data, for example, 'entering critical section' with the value of mutex used. At this level, database statements are recorded. The level is often used for troubleshooting.
  • 7 - ALL, is the last chance before starting a debugger data values, for example, it requires full response text from external systems or data fetched from the database. Rarely used for troubleshooting as a lot of excessive data might appear in the log.

Please note that for WWW.log debug levels 6-7 cannot be set for PCI compliance reasons.

After making any changes in the global.conf file BA restart is required.

Change log level without BA restart

Use the /usr/local/stellart/bin/logsrv_ctl utility to manage log levels of PBA containers on-the-fly (without need to restart BA), refer to kb #119087 for the details.

198398b282069eaf2d94a6af87dcb3ff caea8340e2d186a540518d08602aa065 e12cea1d47a3125d335d68e6d4e15e07 3627d36199b8ff577605df76e2fa222b bb7e9177fb03488961a3ea554120f328 c0f836394088a28cc30dd0e5fe8b600e b2c3b33425dfc50c7d41a2efaa7f84f3 1def515ca613a5505aa21a4affa96e6b ef171e3fccb12bd8e09076a7b49212c0 7c0b495571a6c1bec50e4f324a20ec14

Email subscription for changes to this article
Save as PDF